Tags

, , , ,


This is how they answer the phone at St. Martin’s Press, publishers of my first novel:

Thank you for calling Macmillan, formerly Holtzbrink Publishers. You have also reached St. Martin’s Press, Henry Holt, Tor Books, Holt, Metropolitan Books, New York Times Books, Picador, Palgrave(?) Macmillan, Thomas Dunn, Macmillan Audio, Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group, and Bloomsbury.

Try it yourself: 1-800-221-7945

After you’ve done so, please explain to me how Amazon is scarier than that multi-national, multi-headed hydra.

My feeling is this: small publishers, and small retailers, stand a better chance, not a worse one, now that Amazon is destabilizing the giants at the top of the food chain. And ebooks are creating new readers — and causing existing readers to read more than they were before. I don’t see how these are bad things!

Artwork from Detective Picture Stories # 1 (not to be confused with Detective Comics # 1). It has been represented to me that this artwork is in public domain. Even if it isn’t, I claim Fair Use, bitches!

