Tags

, , , , , , ,


My examples of weirdness, now that I take the time to look at them, weren’t all that weird, really. They weren’t even very different from one another. So much for me and my stupid nostalgia!

There is something different about creating websites now, though, and it’s not just that the tools have matured so it’s easier for everybody to play. I swear to God this isn’t an elitist argument. Or, at least, it’s not motivated and driven by elitism. But here’s the difference: today, you say to yourself, “I think I’ll start a blog,” and you kind of know what a blog is. Or, “I think I’ll start a podcast,” and etc. But back then, you’d say, “I think I’ll start a website. What the fuck is a website?” You had no idea. So you had to make it up. Did that make for better web experiences? Probably not. But it was invigorating and scary and awesome to create stuff and put it out there in whatever format you invented for yourself at that particular moment. Does anyone feel invigorated, scared, and awed by posting to Facebook? Or even to a Tumblr? Maybe. I don’t. Do you?

Artwork from Adventures Into the Unknown # 1. It has been represented to me that this artwork is in public domain. Even if it isn’t, I claim Fair Use, bitches!

