Tags

, , , ,


I sometimes wonder if my ruse really worked, or if everybody had figured me out and I was just too self-possessed to know it. I didn’t trust anybody back then. I had reason to be afraid, though, please do note.

Some of the people I knew in high school have grown up to be completely normal supportive non-homophobic-type people, as evidenced by our interactions on the Facebook. I don’t know if that’s because they were always completely normal, supportive and non-homophobic, or if the thirty years in which we’ve all had time to grow and mature is the reason for this phenomenon. Probably a little bit of both.

I’ll bet Russellville, Alabama is probably a worse place to be gay now than it was then. My “new wave” ruse would never work today. At the time, “weird” was just “weird.” Anything could make you “weird,” and once you were “weird,” you didn’t matter. People are a lot more hip to things these days, even in Russellville. Hip to things, but not tolerant of them, would be my guess. Maybe I’m wrong!

Artwork is from Target Comics # 1. It has been represented to me that this artwork is in the public domain. Even if it is not, I claim fair use, amigos!

