Tags

, ,


I made this meal up by grabbing stuff in the kitchen and throwing it all together. I’m not good at remembering or documenting specific amounts of things or well-versed in the language of recipe writing. It turned out so good, though, and I made it up so completely out of nothing, I’m writing down what I think I did so I can do it again. Maybe someone who is more experienced at writing recipes can come in and tidy this up and turn it into something more easily understood by people who aren’t me. I would appreciate it. I’m also wondering if there are ways I can make it better. There are probably things I did that are silly and unnecessary to the final result, too — maybe one of you can point those out.

But mostly I loved this meal and will be making it again.

Ingredients

Chicken:
1 roaster
3 bulbs of garlic

Marinade:
1 cup of Chinese rice wine
1/2 cup of dark sesame oil

Rub:
2 tablespoons of Szechuan peppercorns, ground fine
1 tablespoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon Lawry’s seasoned salt (we were out of real salt)
1/4 cup light brown sugar
2 tablespoons toasted sesame seeds

Rice:
5 cups water
2 cups rice

Preheat oven to 425.

Take the giblets out of the bird, remove any paper or plastic wrapping, and place in saucepan with water. Turn on medium heat.

Place chicken in a large mixing bowl. Pour rice wine onto it and into the cavity. Let sit for 30 minutes. Pat dry. Pour sesame oil on chicken and spread evenly.

Put the 3 bulbs of garlic in the chicken cavity, whole.

Mix the rub ingredients together, except for the sesame seeds.

Put the rub on the skin of the chicken! Naturally! After rub is evenly distributed, sprinkle sesame seeds onto the top of the bird, especially over breast, wings, and legs.

Cook until thermometer placed in center of thickest part of breast reads 165. Take out and let sit for 20 minutes. Do not take out the thermometer until the temperature stops rising!

While the chicken is resting, take the giblets out of the water, throw them away (or keep them if you want). There should be about four cups of very rich chicken broth in here. Skim the white foam off the top. Turn the temperature up until it boils, and then make your rice in this broth. Rice takes 20 minutes — the same amount of time you want the chicken to rest!

While the rice is making: cut the broccoli into small pieces.

Put the bottom part of the roaster pan, with the drippings from the chicken, on the stove. Turn up to medium heat. Once hot, deglaze with a little of the rice wine. Stir fry the broccoli in this sauce along with some dried red chili peppers. Turn the heat down to “simmer” and put the lid of a large saucepan over the broccoli. When the rice is done, the broccoli will be tender but not mushy.

So here are my thoughts and questions:

1. Not sure if the garlic is really needed in the cavity. I thought it would make the flavor of garlic come through the whole bird — but eh. Not so much. Maybe next time I will use a lime or an onion or both.

2. Not sure if the rice wine bath for the bird accomplishes anything.

3. The broccoli is the best part! Just FYI!

4. I think maybe I will add sliced almonds to the broccoli next time, though.

