Tags

, , ,


I’ve been using Feedly ever since I learned that Google Reader is going away.

feedly

I love it, with one important caveat: I had to trim my subscriptions down to 12 in order to fit within a free account. I used to be subscribed to hundreds of feeds. This turned out to be a good thing for me, since many of my feeds were ancient. Some had burned out years ago; others no longer interested me; some I didn’t even remember subscribing to, and couldn’t imagine why I had done so. Having to look at each feed and wonder if I really wanted it, and only keep the ones I really did, has improved the quality of my overall daily trawl, weirdly. Less is more.

You can pay to have more than 12 feeds, but I’m not yet ready to do that yet. I’ve heard rumors of other potential Reader replacements, from big, reputable companies, that are launching soon. It seems wasteful to spend money on something that has always been free for me until I’ve at least tried those, especially the one Digg is promising to launch. That one’s going to be fee-based as well, but I’m sure I’ll be able to try it out for free, and my mama always told me that you better shop around. You know?

Note that until Google Reader goes away you can still use a free Feedly account to access your Reader feeds, if you take advantage of the integration feature. That might be a good way for you Reader fanatics to test the UI and see if it does what you need for it to do.

[UPDATE: Feedly contacted me on Twitter to let me know that they do not have a 12-feed limit on free accounts. I guess I hallucinated that part. I’m still happier with my pared-down feed subscriptions, though!]

